Van Persie is Footballer of the Year

Arsenal striker Robin Van Persie picked up the Football Writers' Association. Footballer of the Year award to go alongside the Professional Footballers' Association award he has already collected.

The Dutchman was a long way ahead opf Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney in second and Paul Scholes in third. Fulham’s American striker Clint Dempsey was fourth. Despite Arsenal having a disappointing season, Van Persie has excelled, scoring 34 goals in all competitions for the club.

The FWA chairman Steve Bates confirmed that Van Persie was a clear winner. "Robin was the overwhelming choice of our members this season," he said, "and deservedly so after a magnificent campaign for Arsenal. The quality of his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season for the Gunners has been eye-catching. The considerable size of his majority in the votes cast by our members reflected the general view that he has been the season's most outstanding individual performer."

His manager Arsene Wenger would concur, and he is determined to secure the player with an improved contract. Arsenal have had a tendency to lose key players, notably Cesc Fabregas, in recent seasons, and keeping Van Persie is imperative. Clubs rumoured to be interested in signing him include Juventus, Real Madrid and Paris Saint Germain.

Van Persie will be hoping that Arsenal strengthen their squad over the summer, and that they qualify for next year’s Champions League. If they finish outside the top four this season, he may be keen on a move away from the Emirates.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2020