Uefa name Xavi player of Euro 2008

UEFA have named Spain and Barcelona midfielder Xavi Hernández as the player of the tournament after his stellar performances throughout Euro 2008. According to UEFA's Technical Team the 28-year-old epitomised Spain's style of play in the tournament.

Yesterday UEFA released its Team of the Tournament and unsurprisingly the squad of twenty-three is dominated by Spanish players. Selection was based on individual performances in the tournament and not on reputations and previous performances leading to a number of high-profile absentees such as Cristiano Ronaldo.

UEFA Euro 2008 Team of the Tournament:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Edwin van der Sar (Netherlands).

Defenders: Bosingwa (Portugal), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Carlos Marchena (Spain), Pepe (Portugal), Carles Puyol (Spain), Yuri Zhirkov (Russia).

Midfielders: Hamit Altıntop (Turkey), Luka Modrić (Croatia), Marcos Senna (Spain), Xavi Hernández (Spain), Konstantin Zyryanov (Russia), Michael Ballack (Germany), Cesc Fàbregas (Spain), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Lukas Podolski (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Russia), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Russia), Fernando Torres (Spain), David Villa (Spain).

The Excite Euro 2008 XI: (GK) Iker Casillas-Spain, (RB) Bosingwa-Portugal, (CB) Carles Puyol-Spain, (CB) Giorgio Chiellini-Italy, (LB) Yuri Zhirkov-Russia, (RM) Xavi Hernández-Spain, (CM) Marcos Senna-Spain, (CM) Hamit Altıntop-Turkey, (LM) Cesc Fabregas-Spain, (F) Andrei Arshavin-Russia, (F) Fernando Torres-Spain

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2020