Tru Playa (of the Year)

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has won the Football Writer's Association Player of the Year award. The 28-year-old beat off Wayne Rooney and Ryan Giggs to the gong, while inexplicably Frank Lampard was nowhere near the top spot.

However the 23 goals he has scored so far this season have ensured that Man United haven't had it all their own way this season, and is even ahead of team mate Fernando Torres in the scoring charts.

'His drive and desire have underpinned Liverpool's Premier League title challenge and ensured a tight finish to the season,' said FWA chairman Steve Bates.

'Steven is clearly in his prime and quite rightly rated one of the finest midfield players of his generation and the FWA are delighted to honour his contribution to club and country.'

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2018