WSOP Tournament of Champions poker event

The WSOP Tournament of Champions Poker Event does not count as an official World Series of Poker event. It is an invitation only event and the winner receives a large trophy with the WSOP logo and a large cash prize.

The first event took place in 2004, with invitations extended to 10 of the most well known poker players. Annie Duke won the tournament and received $2 million and it was a winner takes all event.

In 2005, Mike Matesow won the tournament and received $1 million dollars. Players had to qualify by winning any World Series of Poker circuit events or by reaching the final table of the 2005 WSOP $10,000 no limit Texas hold 'em championship event. Harrod's, who sponsor the event, also added sponsor exemption players.

In 2006 Mike Sexton won the tournament and received $1 million.  The event was put on hold indefinitely by Harrod's in 2007, due to a lack of public interest. However, in 2010 it was revived with a new format.

It gave the public the option to choose 20 of the 27 players who were to play the tournament and they voted online at www.WSOP.com/TOC. This gave the public the opportunity to see their favourite poker personalities in action against the best in the world.

5 of the remaining seats were automatically awarded to the winner of the WSOP Main Event, the winner of the WSOP Main Event Europe and three previous TOC winners. The remaining two seats were sponsor's exceptions picked by Harrod's. The event certainly revived the public's interest in the event and it was won by Huck Seed, who received $500,000.



United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2018