Tour de France winner Chris Froome signs new contract with Team Sky

Tour de France winner Chris Froome has signed a new contract with Team Sky. We’re not sure how long the contract is for, but the team’s principle David Brailsford has been after a three-year deal and he seemed pretty pleased when the announcement was made.

In a statement Froome said: “This has been an incredible year for me and I'm delighted to finish it off by signing a new contract with Team Sky. I've been with this team since the start and I know this is the right place for me to continue to grow as a rider.”

This new deal is only Froome’s third contract as a professional. When he turned pro in 2008 he raced for Barloworld and then in 2010 he signed for the then fledgling Team Sky on a two-year deal. After a great ride to second place behind Juan José Cobo in Spain during the 2011 season, team principle Brailsford signed him to a three-year deal until 2014. Agreeing a new deal while a year remains on his contract shows just how important the 28-year old is to the team.

This year has been a breakout one for the British rider who has won the Tour of Oman, Critérium International, Critérium du Dauphiné and Tour of Romandie. He’s quick to acknowledge that “It's impossible to win races without the right team beside you so I'd like to thank everyone at the team for their continued support,” adding in a statement that “It's an honour to be a Team Sky rider and I hope to play a big part of its success for years to come.”

As well as Froome, Sky has also renewed the contracts of 9 other riders: Chris Sutton, Peter Kennaugh, David López, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Sergio Henao, Salvatore Puccio, Xabier Zandio, Chris Sutton and Danny Pate. Team Sky team mate and Olympic gold medallist Bradley Wiggins remains under contract to the team until 2014.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022