England's rugby world cup squad

Martin Johnson has carefully selected and named the rugby world cup squad in which he believes can bring the world cup back to England just like he did as a player in 2003 as captain.

Johnson's 30 man squad seems a strong outfit but many were surprised at the omission of Riki Flutey who will act as a stand-by should any of the squad of 30 fall victim to injury. It would have undoubtedly have been extremely difficult for Johnson to pick his final 30 man squad and with more great players than places, it would have caused a selection headache which would have in some ways pleased the head-coach that he has so many fantastic players to choose from.

World cup hero from 2003 Jonny Wilkinson has been selected as one of two fly-halves selected in the squad but it is envisaged that Leicester's Toby Flood will start in the opening game against Argentina on September 10th. Below is the 30 man squad in full that Martin Johnson has selected to fly out to New Zealand:


Props: Dan Cole, Alex Cobisiero, Andrew Sheridan, Matt Stevens, David Wilson.

Hookers: Dylan Hartley, Lee Mears, Steve Thompson.

Locks: Louis Deacon, Courtney Lawes, Tom Palmer, Simon Shaw.

Back Row: Tom Croft, Nick Easter, James Haskell, Lewis Moody, Tom Wood.


Full-backs/Wings: Delon Armitage, Ben Foden, Chris Ashton, Mark Cueto.

Centres: Matt Banahan, Shontayne Hape, Mike Tindall, Manu Tuilagi.

Fly-halves: Toby Flood, Jonny Wilkinson.

Scrum halves: Joe Simpson, Richard Wigglesworth, Ben Youngs.

There you have it, the 30 man squad selected as capable of taking England all the way in the upcoming world cup. Make sure you tune in and watch the team in action starting with Argentina on September 10th from Dunedin.



United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2020