Rugby international fixtures for the 2011 World Cup

Rugby international fixtures for the World Cup, are worked out by the IRB, based on a number of different factors. These include who the host nation is, who the seeded teams are and where the matches will take place.

The competition comprises of two stages, the group stages and the knockout tournament.

Group Stages

Teams are split into four groups, named A to D. Each group has 5 teams in it, and these comprise of a top seeded team, and second seeded team, and tree other teams. All teams in the group play each other once, and the top two in each group at the end go through to the knockout stages.

This year the groups consist of the following teams:

Group A

New Zealand, France, Tonga, Japan, Canada

Group B

England, Argentina, Scotland, Georgia, Romania

Group C

Australia, Ireland, Italy, USA, Russia

Group D

South Africa, Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Namibia


Knockout Stages

Once teams have qualified from their groups they will be placed into the knockout stages. The winner of a group will play against the second placed team from another group as follows:

Quarter Finals

Winner of Group C vs Runner up of Group D

Winner of Group B vs Runner Up of Group A

Winner of Group D vs Runner up of Group C

Winner of Group A vs Runner Up of Group B


Semi Finals

The semi finals are mapped out to ensure that teams from the same group stage will not have to play each other again until the final. They are as follows:

Winner of QF 1 vs Winner of QF 2

Winner of QF 3 vs Winner of QF 4


The final is obviously competed between the two semi final winners

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2019