Lions announce team to take on the Southern Kings

The British and Irish Lions team to take on the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth tomorrow evening has been announced. With the Lions set to play the first Test against the Springboks on Saturday the starting XV for tomorrow's match gives the biggest hint of who will line out in Durban at the weekend.

Amongst the players included tomorrow is the 2008 world player of the year Shane Williams. The Wales winger has struggled with his form all season and looks to have dropped out of the running for a Test place due to the excellent performances so far from both Tommy Bowe and Ugo Monye.

In a further blow to Williams' chances of impressing head coach Ian McGeechan, the diminutive winger could miss tomorrow's match with a stomach bug. Tommy Bowe will join up with the match-day 22 if Williams fails to recover in time.

Ireland lock Donncha O'Callaghan captains the Lions while Nathan Hines will start the match at blindside flanker alongside Joe Worsley and Andy Powell in the back row. If there are any places in the Test 22 still up for grabs the players on show tomorrow know that they have one last chance to stake their claim.

The Lions team to face the Southern Kings: Keith Earls (Munster/Ireland); Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales), Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster/Ireland), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland); James Hook (Ospreys/Wales), Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland); Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales), Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England), Nathan Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster/Ireland) captain, Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England), Euan Murray (Northampton/Scotland), Ross Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks/England). Replacements: Matthew Rees (Scarlets/Wales), Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England), David Wallace (Munster/Ireland), Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers/England), Ronan O'Gara (Munster/Ireland), Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England)

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2018