Formula 1 moves the goalposts

The FIA have changed their ranking system so that as of next season, the driver with the most Formula 1 Grand Prix wins, not the most points, wins the drivers championship.

It's a change that Lewis Hamilton will be happy that didn't come into effect last year, as he would have finished in second place to Felipe Massa, with five wins compared to Massa's six. Instead the Englishman ended up one point ahead of the Brazilian.

The system is slightly less straight forward than last year, as the rest of the championship (from third downwards) is decided on the same points system as last season, and if two or more drivers end the season with the same number of wins, then the number of points gathered will decide it. Expect some scratching of heads during the upcoming season.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2019