F1 Abu Dhabi 2013 Grand Prix Went as Planned for Vettel

The newly crowned Formula One Drivers World Champion Sebastian Vettel got the F1 Abu Dhabi 2013 result he wanted with ease at the Yas Marina Circuit. It was his seventh win in a row and his eleventh of the 2013 campaign.

The story of this season has been the rivalry between Vettel and his teammate Mark Webber, forged by their close competitiveness on rare occasions, but mainly created by the Malaysian Grand Prix incident when the now four-time World Champion disobeyed team orders to snatch victory from his now retiring teammate.

Webber started the 2013 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix from pole after a blistering lap on Saturday but a slow start saw him lose the lead by the first corner. By the second corner Webber found himself in third place behind his teammate and the Mercedes of Nico Rosberg. After that he spent the first stint holding off Romain Grosjean’s Lotus. The Australian eventually recovered to second place but found his teammate 30 seconds away, “In a different category” was the way Webber put it after the race.

British interest was centred on Lewis Hamilton and Paul di Resta who fought over sixth place. Hamilton’s Abu Dhabi GP didn’t start well with brake problems during the formation lap and the race itself was little more than a struggle behind the Sauber of Esteban Gutierrez, Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne and the Force India of Adrian Sutil until he got up to di Resta’s VJM06. The Force India driver made it difficult for Hamilton but ultimately both lost places when Fernando Alonso’s tyre strategy played out. Ferrari’s number one ran a very long middle stint that left him trailing Felipe Massa for most of the race. The switch to soft Pirelli rubber on the 44th lap resulted in a run of fastest laps and ultimately a fifth place finish.

  • 1 S Vettel Red Bull
  • 2 M Webber Red Bull
  • 3 N Rosberg Mercedes
  • 4 R Grosjean Lotus
  • 5 F Alonso Ferrari
  • 6 P Di Resta Force India
  • 7 L Hamilton Mercedes
  • 8 F Massa Ferrari
  • 9 S Perez McLaren
  • 10 A Sutil Force India
  • 11 P Maldonado Williams
  • 12 J Button McLaren
  • 13 E Gutierrez Sauber
  • 14 N Hulkenberg Sauber
  • 15 V Bottas Williams
  • 16 D Ricciardo Toro Rosso
  • 17 J Vergne Toro Rosso
  • 18 G van der Garde Caterham
  • 19 C Pic Caterham
  • 20 J Bianchi Marussia
  • 21 M Chilton Marussia
  • 22 K Raikkonen (retired) Lotus

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021