F1 2014: Lewis Hamilton wins the Malaysia Grand Prix

  • getty images

Mercedes looks like the team to beat this season after their first one-two of the year. Lewis Hamilton won the Malaysia Grand Prix from pole position while his teammate Nico Rosberg came from third on the grid to claim second. The reigning F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel finished third 24.5 seconds after the leader had crossed the line.

Hamilton’s emphatic drive from the pole earned him his first win of the 2014 F1 season. He assumed the lead from the start and was never headed. Behind him Sebastian Vettel came through to third, Fernanado Alonso finished fourth and Force India's Nico Hulkenberg was fifth. Britain's Jenson Button was a disappointing sixth and Felipe Massa defied Williams team orders to finish in seventh place ahead of his teammate Valtteri Bottas.

After the race, Mercedes executive director Paddy Lowe said: “We knew we had the cars for a one-two but we didn't manage to achieve it in Melbourne.” He said the team are “happy and relieved to have delivered” a one-two finish in the second race of the season after Hamilton retired from the pole in the Australian GP while his teammate dominated the season opener.

A little history was written in today’s race as this was Mercedes first one-two finish since 1955. It was also Hamilton’s 2nd win for the team and the 24th of his F1 career.

  • Pos Driver - Team
  • 1 Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
  • 2 Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
  • 3 Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull Racing-Renault
  • 4 Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
  • 5 Nico Hulkenberg - Force India-Mercedes
  • 6 Jenson Button - McLaren-Mercedes
  • 7 Felipe Massa - Williams-Mercedes
  • 8 Valtteri Bottas - Williams-Mercedes
  • 9 Kevin Magnussen - McLaren-Mercedes
  • 10 Daniil Kvyat - STR-Renault
  • 11 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
  • 12 Kimi Räikkönen - Ferrari
  • 13 Kamui Kobayashi - Caterham-Renault
  • 14 Marcus Ericsson - Caterham-Renault
  • 15 Max Chilton - Marussia-Ferrari
  • Ret Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull Racing-Renault
  • Ret Esteban Gutierrez - Sauber-Ferrari
  • Ret Adrian Sutil - Sauber-Ferrari
  • Ret Jean-Eric Vergne - STR-Renault
  • Ret Jules Bianchi - Marussia-Ferrari
  • Ret Pastor Maldonado - Lotus-Renault
  • Ret Sergio Perez - Force India-Mercedes

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022