F1 2014 dates confirmed: Mexico, New Jersey and South Korea Miss Out

When the FIA announced the 22 race calendar for F1 2014 a lot of fans were concerned about the hike in the amount of races so the about-face from the sport’s governing body must be good news to those who want to see Formula One remain an exclusive sport.

Sebastian Vettel’s quest for a fifth consecutive World title in 2014 will cover 19 venues as problems have arisen that preclude the inclusion of Mexico, South Korea and New Jersey. After a meeting in Paris the World Motor Sport Council has agreed on a shorten calendar that will appease the team owners. Christian Horner, team principle at Red Bull had called the proposed 22 race series “beyond the limit” and there were other teams who were also concerned with the proposal to increase events for the 2014 season. The triple header of races in May to June that would have taken the teams from Monaco to New Jersey and Canada on back to back weekends has been removed as the promoter Leo Hindery Jnr has been unable to tie up the finances to allow for the Grand Prix of America, even though he signed a 15 year agreement earlier in the year with F1 chief Bernie Ecclestone.

As with the New Jersey event, South Korea’s Grand Prix has been removed for financial reasons. The organisers have failed to renegotiate their sanction agreement with Ecclestone so they’ve been forced to pull the plug on the event. Mexico was returning after 22 years away, but work to redevelop the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City isn't going as planned so the race track will not be ready for the 2014 season.

The 2014 season begin on 30th March in Malaysia and ends in Abu Dhabi 8 months later when most observers will be hoping that the new F1 2014 regulations will have helped crown a different champion to the one who’s dominated the past 4 seasons.


  1. Mar 16th - Australia (Melbourne)
  2. Mar 30th - Malaysia (Sepang)
  3. Apr 6th - Bahrain (Sakhir)
  4. Apr 20th - China (Shanghai)
  5. May 11th - Spain (Barcelona)
  6. May 25th - Monaco
  7. Jun 8th - Canada (Montreal)
  8. Jun 22nd - Austria (Red Bull Ring)
  9. Jul 6th - Britain (Silverstone)
  10. Jul 20th - Germany (Hockenheim)
  11. Jul 27th - Hungary (Budapest)
  12. Aug 24th - Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
  13. Sep 7th - Italy (Monza)
  14. Sep 21st - Singapore
  15. Oct 5th - Japan (Suzuka)
  16. Oct 12th - Russia (Sochi)
  17. Nov 2nd - United States (Austin)
  18. Nov 9th - Brazil (Interlagos)
  19. Nov 23rd - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022