England name young team to face the All Blacks

England have announced a young team the team to play the All Blacks in Auckland on Saturday, with loose-head prop Andrew Sheridan the sole survivor from last year's World Cup final defeat to South Africa.

With Danny Cipriani, Jonny Wilkinson, Paul Sackey, Lewis Moody, Phil Vickery, Nick Easter and Simon Shaw all out injured, tour manager Rob Andrew has chosen to field an unfamiliar and youthful England line-up. Charlie Hodgson will start at 10, Olly Barkley and Mike Tindall are the centres with David Strettle and the uncapped London Irish winger Topsy Ojo on the wings.

In the forwards Luke Narraway starts at No8, Tom Rees and James Haskell are on the flanks, Tom Palmer and captain Steve Borthwick in the second row while props Matt Stevens and Sheridan make up the front row with hooker Lee Mears.

England will be hoping to go one better than Ireland who lost 21-11 last Saturday to an All Blacks team that has lost a large number of players to European club rugby since New Zealnad's semi-final defeat to France at last year's World Cup.

England team: M Brown (Harlequins); T Ojo (London Irish), M Tindall (Gloucester), O Barkley (Bath), D Strettle (Harlequins); C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), R Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks); A Sheridan (Sale Sharks), L Mears (Bath), M Stevens (Bath), T Palmer (Wasps), S Borthwick (Bath, captain), J Haskell (Wasps), T Rees (Wasps), L Narraway (Gloucester). Replacements: D Paice (London Irish), T Payne (Wasps), B Kay (Leicester), J Worsley (Wasps), D Care (Harlequins), J Noon (Newcastle), M Tait (Newcastle).

New Zealand team: M Muliaina (Chiefs); A Tuitavake (Blues), C Smith (Hurricanes), M Nonu (Hurricanes), S Sivivatu (Chiefs); D Carter (Crusaders), A Ellis (Crusaders); N Tialata (Hurricanes), A Hore (Hurricanes), G Somerville (Crusaders), B Thorn (Crusaders), A Williams (Crusaders), R So'oialo (Hurricanes), R McCaw (Crusaders, captain), J Kaino (Blues). Replacements: K Mealamu (Blues), J Schwalger (Hurricanes), A Boric (Blues), S Lauaki (Chiefs), J Cowan (Highlanders), S Donald (Chiefs), L MacDonald (Crusaders).

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2019