Capello names World Cup squad

If you’ve been living under a rock (or you hate football), the World Cup in South Africa starts a week on Friday - and last night at 23:00 BST was the cut off time for the teams to let FIFA know their final squads.

As usual, the worlds media doesn’t care who is IN the truncated 30-23 squad - instead it's who ISN’T, and in England’s case the name on every hacks lips was Theo Walcott, Arsenal’s nippy little right winger. Theo had a rapid rise to footballing prominence when Sven Goran surprisingly picked him for the World Cup in 2006. And like that year, Theo will be firmly on the bench for this year tournament - the bench being his sofa at home.

So who is actually going to South Africa? Seven players were for the inevitable chop, and Fabio Capello personally called them to break the bad news. The unlucky chumps were; Tom Huddlestone, Adam Johnson, Darren Bent, Michael Dawson, Scott Parker, Leighton Baines and Theo Walcott who was quick to show his support for his former teammates; ‘I am very disappointed not to be included in the squad going out to South Africa, but completely respect Mr Capello's decision. I would like to wish the team the best of luck and hope they have a really successful tournament.’

The 23 man squad is;

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), David James (Portsmouth), Robert Green (West Ham).

Defenders: Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Ledley King (Tottenham), John Terry (Chelsea), Matthew Upson (West Ham), Stephen Warnock (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Manchester City), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham), James Milner (Aston Villa), Shaun Wright-Phillips (Manchester City).

Forwards: Peter Crouch (Tottenham), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Emile Heskey (Aston Villa), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).

England’s first match is against the U.S.A. on Saturday 12th June, it’s a 7.30pm K.O.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2019