Borthwick to captain England on New Zealand tour

Martin Johnson has selected the England squad to take on New Zealand down under next month. Bath second row Steve Borthwick will captain the side with both Jonny Wilkinson and Phil Vickery out of the tour due to injury.

The squad also includes six uncapped players: Danny Care and Topsy Ojo, David Paice and Nick Kennedy of London Irish, Jason Hobson from Bristol and Northampton's Dylan Hartley. They have all been picked due to their form in the Guinness Premiership.

The two most high profile absentees from the list are Lesley Vainikolo and Iain Balshaw, who both featured in England's back three in the Six Nations. Shane Geraghty, Simon Shaw and James Simpson-Daniel were not available due to injury.

With the All Blacks hemorrhaging key players to Northern hemisphere rugby, many are predicting England to win down under. But is the squad that Johnson has picked good enough?

The England squad in full:

Backs: M Brown (Harlequins), P Sackey (Wasps), D Strettle (Harlequins), T Ojo (London Irish), M Tait (Newcastle), M Tindall (Gloucester), J Noon (Newcastle), T Flood (Newcastle), O Barkley (Bath), D Cipriani (Wasps), C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), R Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), P Richards (London Irish), D Care (Harlequins).

Forwards: A Sheridan (Sale Sharks), T Payne (Wasps), M Stevens (Bath), J Hobson (Bristol), L Mears (Bath), D Hartley (Northampton), D Paice (London Irish), S Borthwick (Bath, capt), B Kay (Leicester), N Kennedy (London Irish), T Palmer (Wasps), T Croft (Leicester), J Haskell (Wasps), J Worsley (Wasps), M Lipman (Bath), T Rees (Wasps), N Easter (Harlequins), L Narraway (Gloucester).

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2019