BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2013 preview of tonight's show

The 60th edition of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award is being held tonight and one of the ten UK athletes will be given the prestigious award. Athletes Christine Ohuruogu, Hannah Cockroft and Mo Farah are on the list along with Chris Froome and Andy Murray. Justin Rose, the US Open champion, sailor Sir Ben Ainslie, England cricketer Ian Bell, rugby player Leigh Halfpenny and champion jockey AP McCoy are also on the list.

The public will be able to vote for the winner online or by phone during the event that starts at 7.40pm on BBC One. You’ll have to wait for the show to begin before voting, as phone numbers for each nominee are being announced during the broadcast and the BBC’s website won’t accept votes until the programme is underway. The show will be presented by Gary Lineker, Gabby Logan and Clare Balding.

More than 12,000 are expected to attend the ceremony at the First Direct Arena in Leeds. The bookies are predicting that Andy Murray will walk away with the trophy, but the other nominees would also make worthy winners as Ian Bell won the Ashes with England this past summer, Sir Ben Ainslie was part of an America’s Cup winning crew, and this season AP McCoy rode an unprecedented 4,000th winner. Justin Rose won his first major golf championship at this year’s US Open and Chris Froome dominated in cycling's Tour de France, but we’re not sure their individual achievements matched that of the bookie’s favourite.

Andy Murray ending the nation’s 77 year wait for a Wimbledon title will probably swing it towards the Scotsman. Looking forward to 2014, what chance is there of England’s footballers taking to the BBC’s stage next year in a similar celebration to Murray after ending 44 years without a World Cup trophy?

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021